Drivers

A driver belongs to a product and signs in to ioki Vehicle App with a username and a six-digit password. For the driver concept and its locking, archiving, and naming behavior, see Drivers in Platform.

View drivers

Permissions: read_drivers

From the product overview in Control Center, select Drivers in the left sidebar. In this view, unarchived drivers are listed in a table containing the following information.

ColumnDescription
IDDriver identifier
OperatorAssigned operator
NameDriver name
UsernameDriver login name
Phone numberDriver phone number, if set

Search drivers

Permissions: read_drivers

You can search drivers by Name and Phone number.

Create a driver

Permissions: create_drivers

Drivers can be created manually by selecting Create new, or imported in bulk by selecting Import, which opens ioki Data Bridge.

The following information can be entered when creating a driver.

  • Operator
  • First name
  • Last name
  • Username
  • External ID
  • Language
  • Phone number (optional)

If the username field is still empty when you leave the last-name field, Control Center suggests a username automatically by combining first and last name, removing non-word characters, and converting the result to lowercase. You can still change it before saving.

Select Save. A password is then generated automatically.

The use of phone numbers for drivers is not limited to one driver. Phone numbers saved in the system can be applied to different providers and products at the same time.

When you save a new driver, ioki Platform generates a six-digit password and opens the detailed view. The generated credentials are shown there once in the current request.

Open the detailed view of a driver

Permissions: read_drivers

To open the detailed view of a driver, select ⚙️ > Show in the dropdown menu. Alternatively, select their name in the table.

Edit a driver

Permissions: update_drivers

To edit a driver, select ⚙️ > Edit in the dropdown menu. Make the desired changes and then select Save.

Generate a new password for a driver

Permissions: update_drivers

To generate a new password for a driver, select ⚙️ > Generate new password in the dropdown menu. Note that this action cannot be undone.

Manually set a new password for a driver

Permissions: update_drivers

This option appears in the dropdown menu if the product feature driver password management is activated.

To manually set a new password for a driver, select ⚙️ > Set password manually in the dropdown menu. Enter the new password and then select Save.

Lock a driver

Permissions: lock_drivers

To lock a driver, select ⚙️ > Lock in the dropdown menu. If a driver is locked, select ⚙️ > Unlock in the dropdown menu to unlock them. A driver is also locked automatically after too many failed sign-in attempts.

Archive a driver

Permissions: delete_drivers

To archive a driver, select ⚙️ > Archive in the dropdown menu.

An archived driver is no longer shown in the table. The driver gets disconnected from active vehicle connections, and their phone number and username as well as the associated device are deleted. The name is anonymized. This is due to the fact that other database entries which correspond to this driver should not be deleted.

The display of the driver name is managed by the Display Name Strategies, which is defined in the tenant settings of the corresponding provider.

In the Driver-related settings section of the tenant settings of a product, additional settings for driver behavior in the ride logic can be configured.

Can I force decouple a driver from a vehicle?

Sometimes it’s necessary to decouple a driver, for example if the driver forgets to log out after a shift. To decouple a driver, go to the index of drivers, select the relevant driver, and open the Connected Vehicles tab. Then open the dropdown for the occupation you want to end and select End. Do this only when it’s really necessary, and make sure that the driver is not actively driving the shift at that moment. This also works from the vehicle perspective: select Vehicles, choose the corresponding vehicle, open Connected Drivers, choose the corresponding driver, and select End.

When can a driver see the tasks of their vehicle planning?

As soon as the vehicle planning is active and the driver logs in, they can see the planned tasks. A vehicle planning is active fifteen minutes before it actually starts.